Nicholas Yonge Society

Chamber Music in Lewes

Vanbrugh Quartet

Gregory Ellis Violin
Keith PascoeViolin
Simon Aspell Viola
Christopher Marwood Cello


Shostakovich String Quartet No. 10
Borodin String Quartet No. 2
Sean Doherty String Quartet No. 3 ('Devil’s Dream')
Henning Kraggerud Preghiera
Beethoven String Quartet in F minor Op. 95 ('Serioso')

Credit: Miki Barlok

The RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet was founded in 1985 and won the London International String Quartet Competition in 1988. It is one of Europe's most successful quartets, internationally recognised for its beauty of sound, clarity of texture and integrity of interpretation within an unusually wide and varied range of repertoire. The Quartet is the resident string quartet for Raidió Teilifís Éireann, Ireland's national broadcasting service. The group are Artists in Residence at University College Cork and founders of the internationally acclaimed West Cork Chamber Music Festival.

Awe-inspiring and infinitely moving... only one or two ensembles in the world plumb such depths. The Strad, Nov 2010

Note: At 6.30 pm there will be a pre-concert talk.  Details here.

Visit The Vanbrugh Quartet's website.

Ticket Source