Nicholas Yonge Society

Chamber Music in Lewes

22nd March 2013

Mozart Piano Sonata No 10 in C , K330
Debussy Poissons d’or; Jardins sous la pluie; Reflets dans l’eau; L’isle joyeuse 
Beethoven Piano Sonata No 21 in C, Op 53 (‘Waldstein’)
Liszt Nuages gris; Jeux d’eau à la Villa d’Este; Variations on Bach’s Cantata “Weinen, klagen, sorgen, zagen”, S180

Alexandra SiloceaMany of Mozart’s sonatas were in the past considered trivial.  Yet this performance of this sonata showed just how concentrated and full of meaning they could be when played with Alexandra’s delicacy of touch and nuancing of tiny phrases within phrases.

For the Debussy, to delicacy of touch was added a broader impressionistic palate ranging from cantabile contemplation to coruscating brilliance for reflections in water or darting goldfish.

With the Beethoven, the adagio of the Waldstein sounded particularly lovely, and made it easy to forget that the composer was writing still for an advanced fortepiano.

Liszt suited this pianist well, whether it was in the strange harmonic language of Nuages gris, the impressionism of Jeux d’eaux  or the almost as strange Bach Variations, they added to a thoughtful and satisfying programme.

Reviewer: Janet Lovegrove
Photographer: David James