Nicholas Yonge Society

Chamber Music in Lewes

28th February 2014

JS Bach Viola da gamba Sonata No 2 in D, BWV 1028
Rebecca Clarke Sonata for viola & piano
Vaughan Williams Romance
Brahms Viola Sonata in F minor, Opus 120, No 1

Sarah-Jane Bradley & Martin Roscoe in performance 

Recitals for viola and piano are not so frequently heard as are other combinations of strings.  Sarah-Jane Bradley and Martin Roscoe gave us a welcome insight into some of this repertoire in their varied programme.  From the Bach gamba sonata written in three parts elegantly interwoven between the viola and the two hands of the piano, we moved on to the sonata by Rebecca Clarke, herself a viola player, whose work was both lyrical and dramatic with a wide range of dynamics shown to advantage by both players.  Vaughan Williams's short but sonorous Romance was followed by the Clarinet sonata by Brahms in his own arrangement for viola, in a fine performance full of drama, luscious sounds and impeccable ensemble between the players.

Reviewer: Sylvia Coward
Photographer: David James