Nicholas Yonge Society

  International Chamber Music in Lewes

28th October 2016

Kurtág 6 Moments Musicaux
Debussy String Quartet
Smetana String Quartet No 1 ('From my Life')

Van Kuijk Quartet in performance 

This was a challenging programme to open the new season but the Van Kuijk players gave a committed and well defined performance.  Kurtág's six 'moments musicales' were indeed moments making use of harmonics, overtones, mutes and dramatic silences as well as a wide dynamic range.

The Debussy was lucid and free-flowing with every nuance explored in the lyrical and rhythmical material.  And finally the Smetana was given a mature and moving performance, with wonderful sonorous sounds, blending perfectly between the players.  They created a great atmosphere from joy and happiness to the sadness of the end of the piece depicting the composer's deafness.

The unique rapport between the players makes this ensemble one to watch in the future.

Reviewer: Sylvia Coward
Photographer: David James